NHS Organisational Structure

An introduction to the NHS

The healthcare system in the UK is primarily managed through the National Health Service (NHS), which is publicly funded and mostly free at the point of use. The NHS is organised into four main constituents serving England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland. In England, the structure includes NHS England and NHS Improvement at the top, overseeing Integrated Care Systems (ICS), Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs), and individual service providers such as Trusts.

General Practitioners (GPs) are usually the first point of contact for non-emergency care. They run local surgeries where patients can book appointments for consultations. GPs provide primary care services, meaning that they address general health issues and refer patients to specialists when necessary. GPs are usually self-employed, working in a partnership with other GPs within a practice, and they are contracted by the NHS to provide services. Practices receive funding based on a variety of factors, including the number of registered patients and the specific needs of their community.

For cancer diagnoses, the NHS has established a “two-week wait” pathway. The idea is that anyone who is referred by a GP with suspected cancer should see a specialist within two weeks. It’s a standard designed to expedite diagnosis and treatment, thereby improving outcomes. However, this doesn’t necessarily mean the patient will be diagnosed within two weeks but rather that the process will be initiated promptly.

Secondary and tertiary care in the UK largely takes place in hospitals, which are typically Trusts in NHS parlance. Secondary care refers to services provided by medical specialists who generally do not have the first contact with a patient but act on a referral. This could range from scheduled surgeries to urgent but not immediate concerns like a broken bone.

Tertiary care is more specialized and typically involves advanced procedures like cardiac surgery, neurosurgery, or complex cancer treatments. These hospitals often are associated with universities and serve as teaching hospitals as well. They tend to have state-of-the-art facilities and experts in various fields, contributing to medical research in addition to patient care.

The distinction between secondary and tertiary hospitals isn’t always rigid; many large hospitals offer both secondary and tertiary services. These are often categorized as ‘teaching hospitals’ and tend to be located in major cities. They serve a dual purpose of treatment and education, often housing advanced research facilities and providing training for medical students and professionals.

For more visit:

An introduction to the NHS

NHS Website